Round up of 2008

2008 was a busy year for the knitting. Socks made up the majority of the finished items as I finished eight pairs of socks (Karenina, Neighbourhood Tunnels, Mosaic, Fiori Di Zucca, Express Lane, Rock and Weave, Shur’tagel, Mathematical Equation). I’ve also finished 2 single socks (Monkey and Hopscotch) and the foot of La Digitessa as well.

On the non-sock front I made the Swallowtail Shawl for myself and finished the Herringbone Skirt I started a few years ago. For my nephew I made a Petal Bib and a Baby Poncho. I have also started spinning this year and spun and knit Amy for my winter hat and have been trying natural dying.

I have had a chance to take quite a few workshops this year. Through the East Sussex Weavers, Spinners, and Dyers Guild I took Knitting Design with Helen Neale and Ply-Split Braiding with Julie Hedges. Through Kangaroo I took Design Your Own Knits with Debbie Abrahams. Through Socktopus I took Superspin1 with Diane Mulholland and attended the Lucy Neatby Sock Retreat. In 2009 I am planning on attending the Association of Weavers, Spinners, and Dyers Summer School.

For 2009 I plan to continue with the sock knitting and spinning and dying. I am in the Socktopus Sock club again although I have 1.5 pairs to finish from this year’s club kits. I am determined to finish because I want to get my club badges for the socks. I would like to do more lace knitting and would like to finish my Hap Shawl and Flutter scarf I have been working on this year as well as the Alhambra Scarf and Lamineria Shawlette that I “accidentally” cast on this month. I also have a Tulip Sweater I am making for my nephew that I would like to finish as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finished Objects, Knitting, New Project

Leave a Reply

