More Swappiness

Just as the Secret Pal 12 comes to a close I have caved in and joined another Swap. SoSeSaSwa (Socktopus Secret Santa Swap) signups close today and I’ve signed up to make a sock kit for my partner.

Here’s my questionaire
1. What are your favourite colours and fibres?
I love really rich colours – especially blues, reds and purples. Sometimes greens but I lean more towards rich greens although olives might be interesting to try… they’re certainly good to eat.

2. Anything that makes your toes curl? (Fibre, colour, other) Hmmm – Curl in a good way – I don’t really know but I’m loving the twisted cables on one of the socks I’m knitting and love lace (not so much in socks though) so I’d have to go with texture…  Curl in a bad way – hairy yarns, acrylic, novelty, neon colours, not really keen on pastels either.

3. Would you describe yourself as a beginner, intermediate or advanced knitter? It depends what I’m knitting. For lace I would say an advanced intermediate, for socks probably an intermediate, and colourwork probably a beginner

4. Do you have an online wishlist? (Amazon or other) No. I’ll probably need to look into this, but it sounds dangerous.

5. Any new techniques you’d like to learn? I’d love to do some more twisted cabling in socks and am drooling over my pattern for Zum Dirndl from Yarnissima. I’d like to do some more faire Isle and would like to try steeking… probably not possible in a sock pattern. I’d like to learn to design as well.

6. What is your favourite:

Snack? I prefer savoury – crisps, olives, etc
Book? Too many to count – I tend to go for trashy so currently I have Diana Palmer, Christeen Feehan, and Stephanie Laurens on the floor beside the bed.
Movie? I’m not a big chick flick fan and don’t like horror so I’ll have a think and come back on this one.
Music? All sorts, again I’ll have to go check what comes up as favourites on the mp3 player (not an ipod and I don’t want to have to download itunes so if I’m sent music I prefer mp3s)

7. What are your favourite items to knit? I’m in a sock streak this year and I also love lace, although I’m never quite sure what to do with it. I also enjoy knitting hats and bags.

8. Any patterns that are top of your queue? Far too many. I will try to get round to resorting my queue though. I am loving the Zum Dirndls above and am toying with the idea of knee high socks – Can women wear kilt hose do you think?

9. Do you have any other hobbies? I’m involved with the Guides and Brownies and have just taken up spinning. I am also learning a bit about natural dying and would like to try acid dying.

10. Tell us about yourself. When did you first pick up your needles? Who/what encouraged you to start knitting? How would you describe your knitting style? Are you a process knitter or a product knitter, etc. I remember my Mom teaching me with blue acrylic to make a small bit that was probably a Barbie scarf. I think I was seven or eight. I next remember my grandmother teaching me to knit lace from her Barbara Abbey book and I was maybe 8. I don’t know how much I did it at the time but picked it up again at University and have been doing it a lot in the last ten years or so.
I have been a process knitter for some time and enjoying keeping my hands busy and trying new techniques, but I think I am becoming more of a product knitter as i have actually been fnishing things in the last few years.

And its time for the last Secret Pal 12 Question of the Week. I’ve really enjoyed it and have had great upstream and downstream pals.
If you were told you could never again buy yarn, would would your last yarn purchase be? [Thump]…OK I had a little dizzy spell there. No more yarn!!!!!
If you were told you could never knit again, what would be the last thing you’d knit?? [Thump]… you’re trying to traumatize me, right? I think some very large, intricate, complicated lace. Probably either the Wedding Ring Shawl or the Princess Shawl from Sharon Miller. I take the patterns out every so often to drool over them. Maybe I would restart my Estonian Potpourri by Sharon Winsauer instead.
In a given year, how many times do you buy yarn? And what is your favorite place to buy yarn from? A festival? A shop? Online? Dish your favorite places!! Some… I don’t think I should look into this one too closely, especially since I have just started spinning and came back from teh guild with 150g of undyed Bluefaced Leicester rovings and 150g of Wensleydale rovings. As for favourite yarn shops, in Calgary it was Gina Browns and here I used to mainly use Kangaroo and have been to some great workshops there and now I’m having trouble resisting all the goodies at Socktopus.
Lastly, with Fall in full swing in many areas, what is the one thing you look forward to most? Apart from going to Hawaii for my brother’s wedding and then top San Francisco I’m really looking forward to the Lucy Neatby knitting retreat I’m going on in November that was organised by Socktopus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Secret Swap 12

Leave a Reply

