Progress…

A big post today, with the two flats I only have internet access in one so I’ll just have to save everything up.

Ravelympics Progress –
I just need to weave in the ends on the poncho and block it. I haven’t added the fringe but I’ll send the leftover yarn along so my sister can add it if she wants. It looks a bit big so when he grows into it he can wear it until it needs lengthening and she can add the fringe then.

The scarf is almost halfway done. I have about 10 repeats of the body pattern left and the ruffle on the first side and then onto the second side. I’ve really enjoyed this pattern.

Not much progress on the socks yet though. I hope I haven’t overcommitted myself.

Secret Pal Swap
I’m pulling things together for then next package to send although I may split it in two and send some by surface and some by air. I’ve got a message that there is something on the way so it should be a good week.

Swap Question 9
Have you ever entered your knitting (or anything else) in the fair? Would you ever consider it?
ETA…for those of you who live in parts of the world w/o fairs…would you ever consider entering your knitting in a competition?

I can answer this one both ways, as I have entered and won ribbons and would again but I’m not sure what local fairs are around. If I finish the Estonian Potpourri shawl then I might send it on to the next National Exhibition for the Weavers Spinners and Dyers Guild if it turns out well.

I’ve really enjoyed entering items so I’m sure I will again in the future.

Tatted bag – second in sub-class in the 1999 Heritage Park Fall Fair
Shetland Lace headscarf – Third place in the 1999 2nd Annual Agrium Country Fair. I used this as my wedding veil.
Cherry Blossom Shawl – Second place in the 2003 Heritage Park Fall Fair
Spring Shawl – in 2006 I entered this in several competitions in Canada because I didn’t know of any ones around here. I won First in Class and First in Sub-Section at the 9th Agrium Country Fair, First in Class and the Gina Brown Memorial Needlearts Award at the Calgary Stampede Western Showcase, and first in Class at the Heritage Park Fall Fair… I missed out on best of sub-section to a pair of socks as by that point needed a bit of blocking.

Mosaic

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Ravelympics2008

One response to “Progress…

  1. SECret PaL

    So much more ambitious than me!! congrats on being able to enter into a show and winning!!

Leave a Reply

