(Young) Men and Socks on the train

I was knitting on the train last night and had a lot of interest from two teenagers sitting near me as I knit my most recent Sock Club sock. I don’t know if they were bored or not, but they came up with a lot of relevent questions – How do you do the heel, why all the small needles instead of just 2, How do I know what I’m doing – and they listened to the answers as well. Thanks guys, hope you had a good evening in Hastings.

Secret Pal 12 Question #6
What is your favorite type of project to take along on holiday/vacation? I’m really a bad person to ask this question, I’m perfectly happy taking complicated lace projects on holiday and my Spring Shawl from Heirloom Knitting was taken to Guide Camp in 2004 (not much progress made) and to Switzerland on the coach with the Guides in 2005 (More progress as I needed it finished by the end of the summer and was able to finishe the body and start on the edging). So I clearly have no sense. I recently came back from the South Alps where I took Socks (almost a whole sock knit) and lace (1.5mm needles and 1200m (100g) laceweight – some progress but I think I’ll move up to 2mm needles. I can’t see my knitting well with the current needles). I think from now on I’ll probably switch to socks for travel projects.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Secret Swap 12, Socks

Leave a Reply

