I have Mail!!! And Pictures

Hooray – I got my first Secret pal parcel today. Fantastic yarn, beautiful soap, a sample size of Eucalan (I’ve wanted to try this for a while now) and a fantastic knitting gauge so I can stop guessing what size all my needles under 2mm actually are. Thank You Woolgirl… unless that was just to throw me off the scent and you had everything sent from the shop and you are really somebody else… if so, thank you!!!

SP12 SP12 SP12

I’ve also had my new Socktopus Sock Club package and have treated myself by ordering the La Digitessa kit from Yarnissima

Sock4

Question of the Week 4
The “perfect sized” stash was a tough question for many of you to answer. Maybe these stash related questions will be easier:
1) What yarn (that you don’t have/haven’t used) would make your stash “complete”?
I loved the Handmaiden Sea Silk when I made my storm shawl and I’ll have a chance to try the Wollemeise sock yarn (hooray) with La Digitessa to see why everyone is raving so much. I’ve not seen it for years but I also used to love Butterfly Super 10
2) What yarn do you never want to be without? Probably Noro Kureyon. I love the way it felts up and the colours are great. I’m drawn toward sock yarn at the moment although it takes up a bit more room than all the laceweight but the colours everyone is making are fantastic. I really need to learn how to handpaint yarn and use acid dyes. Most of the dying I’ve done is natural where you mix up the dyebath then simmer the yarn for ages. Lovely colours but not so good for variegated.
I’m thinking of looking into what books are available. I have the knitting version of the Dyers Companion so I might see if it is available over here.

PICTURES!!!!!!
I’m scarily behind on posting pictures so here goes:
Dyeing at the end of May
Dyes Dyes Dyes Oak Galls

WKIP Day
Wkip Day Wkip Day Wkip Day

The Alps
Alps Alps Alps Alps Alps

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting, Secret Swap 12, Sock Club, Stash

One response to “I have Mail!!! And Pictures

  1. SECret PaL

    So happy and glad the fisrt package made it there!!! And so quickly too, a touch over a week!! and, yes, *giggle* it was a feint to disguise where I am from, though WoolGirl is my most favoritist online shop, and you can see why!!!

    wonderful pics and such a cutie sheep, tooo,the entralac socks are gorgeous, and the Alps, maybe someday I will be able to travel there and see such beautiful scenery myself.

    your SEcreT pAl

Leave a Reply

