Secret Pal 12 Questionnaire

Here is my Secret Pal 12 Questionnaire (It’s in the Swaps Questionnaire page as well)

What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely not like? I’m on a sock yarn kick at the moment but I’m also a laceweight fan and as I want to learn to dye I’m interested in interesting base yarns. Felting is fun so 100% wools are great too. I’m a bit of a yarn tart and apart from eyelash yarns and nasty acrylics (some aren’t so bad) I’m easy to please.
What do you use to store your needles/hooks in? My Options are living in their binder and my Harmony dpns do the same. The rest are all over the place. Long straights in a Glenfidich tin, shots, circulars, and other dpns in tins.
How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I’ve known how to knit for over 25 years and used to knit lace edgings in my late teens. I’ve been doing a lot more knitting in the last 10 years or so. I’ve been knitting lace for a while so would say I’m intermediate to advanced in it but as I’ve only started socks last year I’d say I’m more of a beginner to intermediate. Woolly was my first real taste of Fair Isle and I’ve not really done much with any other sort of colourwork.
Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list? No
What’s your favourite scent? I’m not fond of scents/candles/etc. I used to work in a craft (sales not supplies) shop and the potpourri drove me insane. I have to leave shops if they are highly scented because I start feeling a bit ill.
Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? I love candies and chocolates but not chocolates with fruit or fruit flavours. I’m also a mint fan and if I see new mints in the shop I usually get a pack to try.
What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin? I can sew a bit but need to learn how to do it properly. I used to tat and make bobbin lace as well. I have far too many beads and have done some stitch markers and beading as well but nothing really complicated. I should really learn to spin as I’m on the committee of the East Sussex Weavers, Spinner, and Dyers Guild but apart from flirting with dying I don’t really do any of those things. I’ve tried drop spindling but wasn’t that taken by it and I don’t have room for a wheel.
What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD) All sorts, Folk, folk rock, country, maritime, celtic, pop, dance, hard rock, classic rock, Cheesy Pop, Europop, comedy… it’s all over the place. I prefer MP3s though because I don’t have itunes.
What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand? I love blues, purples, deep greens, reds, and sometimes pinks as well as natural fibre shades. I’m not a big fan of yellows, oranges, pastels, neons, etc.
What is your family situation? Do you have any pets? I’m married and we have a flatmate but no kids or pets.
Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos? Hats definitely and sometimes scarves. It doesn’t really get cold enough for mittens here and I don’t really understand ponchos.
What is/are your favorite item/s to knit? I’ve taken up sock knitting this year and am really enjoying it. I’ve always loved lace and enjoy making felted bags. I enjoy hats as well. I really enjoyed the Fair Isle when making Woolly and would like to try it again.
What are you knitting right now? Actively, I am knitting socks, a hap shawl, and a prototype bag pattern.
Do you like to receive handmade gifts? I don’t know. Bags are always useful. If you work with wire or beads then a shawl pin would be fantastic.
Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic? I used to be an Addi Turbo addict but got a set of Knitpicks options last year and a set of the harmony dpns for Christmas. They are fantastic. I like the Addi Lace Turbos as well. I’m pretty well stocked up with needles because of this.
Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? I have a really old ball winder that doesn’t work well so might put it and a swift on the Christmas list.
How old is your oldest UFO? The oldest one I know where it and the pattern are is a merino hap style shawl from a workshop in 1997(?).The merino does not block well and I just haven’t got round to frogging it.
What is your favourite holiday? Probably Christmas but any holiday or break from work is great.
Is there anything that you collect? Badges for my campfire blanket. If you’re a Guider or a Scouter (or you have access to one) I’d love to get some of your local/regional badges. Woolly also likes to have small pins and badges to do with knitting as well.
Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have? I prefer technique books rather than pattern books. Old lace pattern books are quite interesting as well and I would love to find a needle gauge for really small needles… I have a set of old UK 24s and I’ve been told I may need to go find a body piercing place to check the sizes. I subscribe to Spin Off and Interweave knits and give in occasionally to piecework. I’m trying not to cave in too much for the knitting magazines because they tend to spawn themselves. (ETA – Wow just saw the new knitpicks Sock Blanks which look fun.)
Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? I’m starting to dye and have lots of bits for natural dying. I’d be interested in doing some acid dyes. I’ve not tried Steeks but don’t really want to make a big project to try that so I’ll keep looking as this would let me do more stranded colourwork I think. I keep thinking I should learn to quilt although I’d probably want to make interesting bags rather than quilts.
Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements? I’ll add this in later when I work out where to measure. In the meantime, I’m about a 5 UK/7.5 US
When is your birthday? February
What’s your Ravelry ID? Whereswoolly (of course)

4 Comments

Filed under Secret Swap 12

4 responses to “Secret Pal 12 Questionnaire

  1. I just assumed that you were a spinner too, being on the commitee of the East Sussex Guild, guess that just makes an ass out of u & me, but it’s amazing what these questionnaires can unearth sometimes!

  2. whereswoolly

    Glad to see you’re on the SP12 as well.

    I’ve been in the Guild for about 4 years now and I mainly go for the fibery goodness but it’s good to put something back and I do a lot of the electronics set ups for the talks as well.

    I’ll learn some day I’m sure and I have done the silk caps – spinning them by rubbing against my thigh (my Calorimetry is in the silk from this). I almost bought carders last meeting as I’ve been wanting some for a while, but sanity set in and I remembered I don’t really have the space. If I can find where my drop spindle is I may have a go again. It’s pretty basic though and I’m a fine yarn kind of girl so I’d probably be tempted more by the kind of small electric doo-hickies I’ve seen people spinning up silk on.

  3. You should use some of your beads to bead the edging of a shawl! That’s what I’m going to do, as soon as I finish my shawl. It’s great using two hobbies at the same time!

  4. SecretPal12

    happy gladness and well met!!! A quick hello from your secret pal for Swap #12!!!! Looking forward to a wonderful summer of swapiness!!!

    your secret pal

Leave a comment