Topic of the Week #2: Magazines

Q: Do you subscribe to any magazines (knitting or otherwise)? Or do you prefer to purchase magazines at the newstand? Do you subscribe online to any knitting magazines/newsletters? What does a knitting magazine need to have to catch your fancy and get you to fork out that well-earned cash?

I’ve been a long time subscriber to Interweave Knits and get Spin-Off as well. I used to get Knitters as well but decided to switch to Interweave Knits instead as this is usually a birthday present from my parents. As for other magazines I like to have a flip through to see what is offered rather than having them wrapped in plastic. I prefer the American magazines to the UK ones because the patterns are more interesting although they are getting a lot better now. I suppose I am also a sucker for interesting free accessories on the magazines as well, although I often regret this. I don’t usually buy the magazines for specific patterns but am trying (unsuccessfully) to only get the ones with techniques that interest me which is why the new issue of Piecework followed me home today.

Online I love Knitty and keep and eye on Magknits as well. I’m keeping an eye out for the new issue of Knit on the Net and can’t wait until the launch of The Inside Loop which should be soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, UK Swap

Leave a Reply

